Who We Are

Get to know us – our mission, vision, and leaders that guide us in building a strong Jewish future for Baton Rouge.

eternal light above ark
rocket ship icon

Our Mission

Our mission is to advance the practice of Reform Judaism in a single inclusive, welcoming congregation serving the needs of all Reform Jews in and around the greater Baton Rouge area. As we continue to grow and evolve, we pursue our Jewish values through the lens of a modern world while building a community of Jewish understanding, value and compassion through Teshuva, Tefilah and Tzedakah.

telescope icon

Our Vision

Our vision is to develop a collective commitment to Jewish Heritage and tradition while affirming the freedom to express shared values in creative and individualistic ways. Through our passionate Jewish Commitment, we strive to bring Tikkun Olam to our community, Israel and the world.

We respect and value the individual preferences among members in worship and expression of spirituality, offering enriching opportunities and programs for Jewish learning and growth at all ages, pre-K to seniors. We recognize that the strength of our diversity can best enhance the broadest expression of the principles of Reform Judaism.

compass icon

Our Guiding Principles

  • We are welcoming of all people: Jews by birth and by choice, interfaith couples and families, everyone inclusive of all races, genders, sexual orientations, identities, and cultures.
  • Our children are the future of our congregation and Reform Judaism and their education is one of our strongest, strategic priorities.
  • Financial circumstances will never be a barrier to full participation. As an organization supported by our members, and in accordance with Jewish principles, we expect those who have the means to provide financial support will do so.
light bulb icon

Our Leaders

Steve Cavalier


James Bullman

Vice President

Mitch Rayner


Heather Folks Givens


Emilie Alton

Board Member

Lindsey Burton

Board Member

Julie Hoffman

Board Member

Jak Kunstler

Board Member

Paul Dampf

Board Member

Steven Winkler

Board Member

Lindi Spalatin

Board Member